Knitting Season is…..OPEN!

Welcome to fall! Sorry I haven’t posted since May/June. It was a busy summer! I knit all summer but some of us don’t. I am feeling particularly inspired this fall though.

I thought my first blog post of the fall would be about inspiration…..

I ordered these vintage buckles from etsy. I don’t know what I am going to do with them yet- but they are light weight enough to be used with knitting. I was sort of thinking bracelets since they are about 1-2 inches long.

I love to get color ideas for designing from vintage hankies. I got these while hitting some flea markets in Manhattan this summer.

I thought I would share this scarf tying idea that I have seen quite a bit lately…..(not my idea but I can’t tell you the exact source)

I also LOVE this scarf which I found this summer at the Young Designers Market in lower Manhattan.

My new “craft” space! I need to work on it- kind of plain right now but I have lots of ideas…..

This is my first quilt, it is an Amy Butler pattern and of course her fabrics. I liked it because it was doable. You first attach and over lap the pieces on muslin. I can’t wait to make another one.

My next bit of inspiration came from finding a stash of Malabrigo worsted in a sale bin in Minnesota! What? In a sale bin you say? YES!

I knitted this blanket using linen stitch from all of the wonderful Malabrigo that I found on sale….. and its for me!

Speaking of Malabrigo, I have to share this tip that I learned from a vest pattern in Malabrigo Book 3. When binding off, especially binding off on the edge of a 2×2 ribbing…. use 3 sizes bigger needles than what you used for the project during bind off. You get this beautiful edge that you don’t have to wrestle with:

My next little beauty is an antique Italian glass tile brooch that I found at the Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market…..I think it will look so great on some of my knits.

In case you haven’t found something that inspires you here…go to www.pinterest.com, this is my latest obsession- very fun!!

So what is next? The pattern for this pillow will be on sale soon at pkramarsic.etsy.com … I will let you know RIGHT HERE when it goes on sale! Happy knitting!

This entry was posted in etsy, knit design, knitting, knitting techniques, wool, yarn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knitting Season is…..OPEN!

  1. Keri says:

    I love the fabric!! Can’t wait to see the bag. I have one of her patterns too, but I still haven’t figured out how to make the sewing machine go. It’s kind’ve a stumbling block.

Leave a Reply

